Alcohol in its many forms is the most popular adult beverage at parties, bars and other locations. Because we have built our society around cars, and using them to get around town, it's only natural that drunk driving would be one of the most common crimes for anyone to be accused of. Teens and those under the legal drinking age are especially vulnerable to drunk driving charges because drunk driving laws are strict when it comes to young people.
Georgia is a zero tolerance state
Georgia is known as a "zero tolerance" state because of the strict drunk driving laws that apply to underage drinkings. If a motorist is under the age of 21 and police suspect that he or she has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of just .02 percent, it could be enough for the driver to face underage drinking and driving charges. For adults, the limit is .08 percent BAC.
How common is underage drinking among teens?
The following statistics from the United States show just how common underage drinking is among teens:
- By the age of 15, approximately 33 percent of teenagers have had one drink of alcohol.
- By the age of 18, approximately 60 percent of teenagers have had at least one drink of alcohol.
Were you or a loved one accused of underage drinking and driving?
Just because underage drinking is common in the United States doesn't mean that if you or a loved one were accused of the crime that it will result in a guilty verdict. Plan your criminal defense carefully by thoroughly review Georgia law and the facts pertaining to your case.
Source: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, "Underage Drinking," accessed May 16, 2018